Poets & Poetry Collect

Boise poet Margaret Koger points us to a new collection being published by the Orenaug Mountain Poetry Journal: Whose Spirits Touch.

This collection features poems that appeared online each day in February 2024 as a part of the Orenaug Mountain Poetry Journal‘s love and relationships challenge. The poems in this book are about loving fully and openly and in deep respect for human nature. The poets are honest and real and rooted. In their honesty, they invite you into their experiences. This is how poetry builds community. (Margaret’s “A Midsummer Dream” is available online.)

The complete collection is currently available at Lulu.com and one will be able to purchase it through Amazon in the coming months.

Note: Submissions are always open at Orenaug Mountain Poetry Journal.

Top photo by Mark Daynes on Unsplash

One Eye Opened…

Publishers Simon & Schuster say: “Christi Nogle has established herself as a modern Ray Bradbury, this collection adds fantasy, slipstream, and fabulism to her canon.

This Idaho author is now publishing her third and final volume in a three-book short story collection series from the UK publisher Flame Tree Press.

The Best of Our Past, the Worst of Our Future focused on psychological and supernatural horror, Promise focused on dark science fiction and futuristic fantasy, and this latest book focuses on slipstream, fabulism, and dark fantasy. “The three books collect much of my short fiction from 2016 to 2022,” says Nogle.

Releasing 12 March 2024, read more about it and order from simonandschuster.com (links on that page to other online vendors) or preorder from your local independent bookstore.

Misbehaving at Cactus Lanes

“Hilarious and heartwarming — perfect for fans of Judy Leigh, Caroline James, Maddie Please”

Patricia Santos Marcantonio is back with bowling humor and sweet friendships in this new book releasing 15 February 2024.

Margaret Adams just buried her late husband but was widowed long before he dropped dead on the ninth hole at his beloved golf club. Now with children grown and her unhappy marriage over, Margaret goes in search of something, anything.

Enter Las Vegas’s bowling alley, Cactus Lanes. With its beautiful neon sign, legendary chili fries, and family spirit, stepping through the doors does more than put a smile on her face.

She discovers the friendships she’s always craved and a chance at a true love with bowling alley owner Frank Martinez. She also realizes the bowling lessons she learns apply elsewhere, namely how to choose her lane and strike with determination through life.

Available on Amazon.

Screenwriters’ Workshops

With the six-week workshop beginning Sat 10 February, join in either in person at Boise’s JUMP or online.

Join our Screenwriter’s Workshops happening every week in JUMP’s PLAY studio. Story artists are invited to bring their screenplays for story discussion. Develop your screenplay to the point of setting up a table read. Collaborate and network as a community of screenwriters gather at JUMP to discuss the art of writing stories for the screen. 

Read more about it on JUMP’s website.

Secrets Ever Green

The secrets were buried . . . until clues began to bloom.

Ivy Rune’s only goal is to pass her final exam and become an Arborist like her late father, even though she fears she’ll never be able to uphold his legacy. Just before her big test, Ivy discovers her father’s secrets . . . and they had nothing to do with the quiet life he led.

Suddenly, clues unspool from wood carvings and old journals, leading Ivy to the outskirts of town and straight to the Count’s forbidden castle. When Ivy uncovers a hidden world of magic, she and her best friend are unexpectedly altered. As they explore their new powers, Ivy realizes she is capable of much more than the simple life her father left for her.

Now Ivy must decide between inheriting her father’s Arborist trade or continuing to uncover the mystery he kept hidden. But uprooting the past might erase her father’s legacy and change the course of Ivy’s life forever.

Visit Sara Knightly’s website.

Purchase through your favorite online retailer.