Misbehaving at Cactus Lanes

“Hilarious and heartwarming — perfect for fans of Judy Leigh, Caroline James, Maddie Please”

Patricia Santos Marcantonio is back with bowling humor and sweet friendships in this new book releasing 15 February 2024.

Margaret Adams just buried her late husband but was widowed long before he dropped dead on the ninth hole at his beloved golf club. Now with children grown and her unhappy marriage over, Margaret goes in search of something, anything.

Enter Las Vegas’s bowling alley, Cactus Lanes. With its beautiful neon sign, legendary chili fries, and family spirit, stepping through the doors does more than put a smile on her face.

She discovers the friendships she’s always craved and a chance at a true love with bowling alley owner Frank Martinez. She also realizes the bowling lessons she learns apply elsewhere, namely how to choose her lane and strike with determination through life.

Available on Amazon.

How Do You Idaho?

Rick Just, Idaho historian and author of numerous books, has just released a definitive guide to How To Be An Idahoan — The Idaho Conversion Kit.

This is the second book in his Speaking of Idaho history series. The Idaho Conversion Kit is a tongue-in-cheek instruction manual on becoming an Idahoan in ten easy steps.

One step is a pronunciation guide to Idaho place names, the first of its kind since 1975. Readers will learn how Idaho got its shape, which Idahoans were notorious enough to have nicknames, the Idaho connections of famous people, and much more.

Oh, and you’ll never use the term “glove compartment” again.

Available on Amazon, or purchase a signed copy from the author (scroll down on this page).

The South Dakota Beech Diet

You Are What You Eat. Laura Jenski has released her fourth Motorhome Murder Mystery, “The South Dakota Beech Diet.”

In this farcical novella, protagonists Wendy and Franklin Becker join the Black Hills Outdoor Club on a backpacking trip. When a hiker is murdered, the club members are only concerned about their upcoming dinner. Soon, the Beckers find themselves up to their bootlaces in trouble.

Learn more and read the first chapters of all the Motorhome Murder Mysteries at:
snowboundstories.com.

Bulwer-Lytton (um) Winner!

As they introduce themselves on their website: “Since 1982 the Bulwer Lytton Fiction Contest has challenged participants to write an atrocious opening sentence to the worst novel never written. Our whimsical literary competition honors Sir Edward George Bulwer-Lytton, whose 1830 novel Paul Clifford begins with ‘It was a dark and stormy night’.”

Celebrate the 2022 winner … and view all the other winners (by genre), along with the accompanying Dishonorable Mentions.

Great writerly fun!

2022 grand prize winner

For the Non-Quintessentially Cool

 Disclaimer: This book is not intended for the super cool.

If you begin every day by setting an intention while doing yoga on a paddleboard (and somehow not falling off), you’re out of my league. If you are even semi-fluent in the Urban Dictionary, there’s little chance we’ll connect. And if you use a vaginal steamer, well, I think we’re done here. Especially if you don’t have a vagina. 

On the other hand

if your spirit animal is the blobfish or you regularly and inexplicably choke on your own saliva, we might be related. If you find intermittent fasting to be both cruel and unusual, I feel your pain. If your athletic abilities could best be described as blundering and oafish, I’m right there with you. It’s possible that we speak the same language. 

We should talk. 

Available on IndieBoundAmazon, and B&N

From Amanda Turner (aka AK Turner), the New York Times bestselling author of This Little Piggy Went to the Liquor Store, Mommy Had a Little Flask, Hair of the Corn Dog, Vagabonding with Kids, Vagabonding with Kids: Australia, Vagabonding with Kids: Brazil, and Vagabonding with Kids: Alaska. She hosts an annual writing retreat in Todos Santos, Mexico. You can learn more at AmandaTurner.com